"Holy Toledo!"

May 15, 2007

Today’s Quiz

Filed under: Baseball, Baskettball, NFL — Bill @ 7:35 am

The Quiz: What is your earliest sports memories?

Recalling these moments should put a smile on your face and conjure up some nice memories. As I listened to the A’s last night on the radio something clicked and stirred a memory of my early days of baseball on the radio. Perhaps it was the small crowd that allows the radio listener to hear individuals in the crowd as opposed to the group itself. Perhaps it was just the melodic rhythm that is baseball on the radio. Whatever it was it got me thinking about those earliest sports memories.

The Quiz:

(audience participation is recommended so be sure to add your comments below)

1- What year were you born?

2- What is your earliest recollection of the concept of sports?

3- When did you discovering sports on the radio?

4- Who was the announcers you grew up with?

5- When did you start listening to sports on the radio regularly?

6- When was the first time you attended a baseball game (either minor leagues or pro)?

7- When was the first time you attended a football game (either major college or pro)?

8- When was the first time you attended a basketball game (either major college or pro)?

9- What is the first World Series & Super Bowl you remember watching on TV?

10- What stadium do you call home?

Enjoy this quiz, I know I did. My answers are in the comments section that can be seen by clicking the link below. I hope to hear your answers as well, it should be fun & interesting.

Bill

1 Comment »

  1. My answers to the Quiz:
    1- What year were you born?
    A: 1961
    2- What is your earliest recollection of the concept of sports?
    A: When I was about 5 or 6 my mother took me to my cousin Bobby’s high school baseball game. From what I remember this was my first sports moment. Shortly afterwards my Dad started racing boats, so I grew up spending my weekend just across the estuary from the Oakland Coliseum watching the boat drags. Those were fun times.
    3- When did you discovering sports on the radio?
    A: I was 9 yrs. old, it 1970. Because both my parents worked I spent my summer days with the Baranzini family. Mama Baranzini was a huge A’s fan and she would always have the game on the radio. I was hooked quickly and before long I went to bed listening to Monte Moore & the A’s. This later led me to Bill King and the Raiders on the radio.
    4- Who was the announcers you grew up with?
    Monte Moore, Bill King, & Lon Simmons. I also have to give a special mention to Curt Gowdy who also gave me some wonderful memories.
    5- When did you start listening to sports on the radio regularly?
    A: Again, it was 1970 thanks to Joanne Baranzini. Once I discovered the A’s on the radio it didn’t take long to figure out that the Raiders could be found on the radio as well. I vividly remember listening to Bill King describe every detail of George Blanda’s incredible season. Holy Toledo!
    6- When was the first time you attended a baseball game (either minor leagues or pro)?
    A: Technically my first game was at Candlestick Park seeing the Giants, I have no idea who they played. The Boys Club took a bunch of us kids. I remember seeing Willie Mays, & sitting really far away. I must have been about 7 or 8, I was far too young to be a fan.
    I consider my first real game to be during the summer of ’74 when I was 13. A friend of my Dad’s promised to take me, he never showed up, so my parents took me to see the Tigers vs. the A’s. Despite the fact that we were late & the score was already 8-1 when we got there, I was thrilled. I saw Norm Cash, Al Kaline, Rudi, Reggie, & Campy. I don’t recall who pitched for the A’s but it was great!
    7- When was the first time you attended a football game (either major college or pro)?
    A: A very special memory… 1976 Cincinnati Bengals at Oakland Raiders on Monday Night Football. Howard Cosell & Billy Boy were in the house! Kenny Stable vs. Ken Anderson, Isaac Curtis vs. Biletnikoff, Bob Trumpy vs. Dave Casper, Mark VanEegan vs. Boobie Clark.
    It was the famous game that the Raiders were supposed to lose on purpose so that the Steelers wouldn’t make the playoffs. They won 35-20. Madden claims it is the game that made him the most proud to be a coach.
    We sat in the louge seats owned by Norelco, I went with my boss Rick Cox, who’s cousin was Bengals TE Bruce Coslet. I still have the many photos I took that night.
    8- When was the first time you attended a basketball game (either major college or pro)?
    A: It must have been approx. 1976, the G.S. Warriors, but I don’t recall who they played. What I do remember is that we sat way, way up high and that Rick Barry scored 45 or so points that night.
    9- What is the first World Series & Super Bowl you remember watching on TV?
    A: My first World Series I remember was 1971, although I find it odd I don’t recall the ’70 Series (I must have been busy riding my bike). I rooted hard for Roberto Clemente and the Pittsburgh Pirates because their opponent, the Baltimore Orioles, beat the A’s in the Playoffs that season (I also recall sitting in the car listening to this on the radio as Dad went to buy new shoes at the Roseland Shoe Mart). The first Super Bowl I watched was SB IV, Kansas City Chiefs vs. Minnesota Vikings. I even remember who I watched it with, my Dad and Uncle Walt.
    10- What stadium do you call home?
    A: At 7000 Coliseum Way, the site of the Oakland Coliseum.

    Comment by billkuhn — May 15, 2007 @ 8:11 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

