"Holy Toledo!"

May 31, 2007

New Treasures Found

Filed under: Vintage Sports Video — Bill @ 4:50 am

My Sports Video Collection:

(which can be found by clicking here:)

https://billkuhn.wordpress.com/my-vintage-sports-video-collection/

As most of you know I collect & trade rare antique or classic sports video and put them on DVD.  My true passion is the great games of the NFL, specializing in the Oakland Raiders (my collection is second to none, and includes the Sea Of Hands, the Holy Roller, + much more!).  I also have most of the Super Bowl games, plus the Indy 500, the Daytona 500, and recently have finally began cataloging my rare NHRA races on DVD.

While editing old tapes of the NHRA U.S. Nationals I discovered a football gem.  Among the many great mid ’80’s American Sports Cavalcade & Diamond P videos I found a very special 1986 preseason Raiders-Cowboys game.  Why so special you ask?  Al Davis is in the booth talking football with Dick Enberg. This isn’t a taped interview, it’s Al talkin’ Raiders football in a way he so rarely ever does.  This rare video features Al for almost 30 minutes discussing everything from his football philosophy, his vision of a spring football league, the Instant Replay, his L.A. plans, and his view of the teams talent.  Given the reflection of time I was blow away by this video, I just sat there and listened…  We forget how bright he was.

As if finding great footage of Big Daddy Don Garlits, Shirley Muldowney, & legendary announcer Steve Evans wasn’t enough, now I find some rare Al Davis video.

You just never know what you might discover on those old tapes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

