"Holy Toledo!"

August 23, 2007

NHRA Countdown To The Championship Update: Top 8 Set, Battle For Top 4 Begins

Filed under: NHRA — Bill @ 6:54 am

The rain-soaked race in Reading, PA was finally completed Wednesday (a TV recap on Sunday at 4:30 est/1:30 pst on ESPN2). By virtue of his final round victory over Hot Rod Fuller, Doug Herbert claimed the final spot in The Countdown beating out David Grubnic by only 2 points.

The next four races will determine who will be eliminated and who will remain in the final four.

Former champions Tony Shumacher & John Force have been hot lately. Top Fuel #1 ranked Hot Rod Fuller has been consistently good, while in Funny Car #1 Ron Capps has been struggling as of late. Pro Stock is sure to come down to the “Big 4” (Greg Anderson, Jeg Couglin Jr., Dave Connoly, & Jason Line). The Pro Stock Bikes will likely come down to Matt Smith, Andrew Hines, and Angel Sampey (her new bike has been superb).

Next up: The 53rd U.S. Nationals!

Here are the official NHRA POWERade standings (as of 8/23/07):

Top Fuel —

Driver Points
1 Rod Fuller 2070
2 Tony Schumacher 2060
3 Larry Dixon 2050
4 Brandon Bernstein 2040
5 J.R. Todd 2030
6 Bob Vandergriff Jr. 2020
7 Whit Bazemore 2010
8 Doug Herbert 2000

Notable names who didn’t make it: David Grubnic, Melanie Troxel, Cory Mc Clenathan, Doug Kalitta, Hillary Will, Clay Millican, Morgan Lucas, & Chris Karamesines

Funny Car —

Driver Points
1 Ron Capps 2,070
2 Robert Hight 2,060
3 John Force 2,050
4 Tony Pedregon 2,040
5 Jack Beckman 2,030
6 Mike Ashley 2,020
7 Gary Selzi 2010
8 Jim Head 2000

Notable names who didn’t make it: Del Worsham, Tommy Johnson Jr, Kenny Bernstein, Cruz Pedregon, Ashley Force, Tim Wilkerson, Gary Densham, & Scott Kalitta

Pro Stock —

Driver Points
1 Greg Anderson 2,070
2 Dave Connolly 2,060
3 Jeg Coughlin Jr 2,050
4 Allen Johnson 2,040
5 Jason Line 2,030
6 Kurt Johnson 2,020
7 Warren Johnson 2,010
8 Larry Morgan 2,000

Notable names who didn’t make it: V Gaines, Richie Stevens Jr, Jim Yates, Greg Stanfield, Kenny Koretsky, Max Naylor, Mike Edwards, & Erica Enders

Pro Stock Motorcycle —

Driver Points
1 Matt Smith 2,070
2 Angelle Sampey 2,060
3 Andrew Hines 2,050
4 Karen Stoffer 2,040
5 Chip Ellis 2,030
6 Ed Krawiec 2,020
7 Peggy Llewellyn 2,010
8 Craig Treble 2,000

Notable names who didn’t make it: Chris Rivas, Steve Johnson, & Antron Brown


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: