"Holy Toledo!"

May 23, 2008

In Memory Of My Friend Don Gemini

Filed under: Life — Bill @ 7:39 pm

Today my heart goes out to the Gemini family. they laid to rest their father, her husband, our friend.

To Wanda, Ann Marie, & Frank I offer my deepest condolences. Don was such a great man, he treated me like an individual, not a kid.

I was probably about 4 or 5 yrs. old when I had my first memory of Don, although he knew me from the day I was born. He was a big man, strong, full of life. He loved his boat the Bounty Hunter, his hot rods, and of course his family whom he adored. He and my dad were the best of friends. They grew up together. While today was rough for me, it was much worse for my dad, losing his good friend.

We all grew up together. As we all grew older we shared many special moments. One time in particular I recall so fondly was a day at Lake Mendocino in the early 1990’s when we all had our boats, enjoying skiing, and relaxing on the beach in the sun. My pops had his Matsen Pro Boat Special, Don had his cruiser, what a great day that was. Wanda, Ann Marie, & Frankie, my Mom & Dad along with my soon to be bride Joanna were all there.

It seems like it was only yesterday, yet now Don is gone.

What I recall the most about Don was his smile, it seemed to always be shining on his face. He loved life, embraced his friends with open arms, made no judgments of people. He took on the task of living life to it’s fullest, he did it well, he did it the way we all should..

To my dear friend Don Gemini, I will miss you.
Life was a better place with you among us.
1 Comment »

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Pass on my condolences to your dad.

    Comment by Ralph Zig Tyko — May 25, 2008 @ 10:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

