"Holy Toledo!"

January 2, 2012

Oakland Raiders Coach Hue Jackson Speaks Out In Postgame Press Conference

Filed under: NFL, Oakland Raiders — Bill @ 2:55 pm

After yesterday’s tough loss that ended the season Raiders head coach Hue Jackson sounded like a man who had been biting his tongue long enough and finally wanted to get some things off his chest. Perhaps the harsh reality of truth is what this organization needs to get back to it’s winning tradition.

I could go on and on about my frustrations, for example leaving MLB Rolondo McClain in on 3rd down only to get beat by a tight end or wide receiver. McClain wears #55 and plays middle linebacker, the same number & position as former Raider Matt Millen. Granted McClain is a bit faster than Millen, but as middle linebacker their primary job is to clog up the middle on running plays. Would former Raiders defensive coordinator Charlie Sumner have kept Millen in to cover a guy like Kellen Winslow? Absolutely not.

Then there is this matter of the running backs, or lack there of. While I understand not wanting to put McFadden on the IR in case he came back, there is a roster issue I’m curious about. Without McFadden the only outside threat from the running back spot was Taiwan Jones. He lasted about one game before getting hurt, leaving the Raiders with only Michael Bush, Reece, Tonga, & Cartwright. Three fullbacks & one running back, none of which threaten the outer perimeter of the defense. Why didn’t they put Jones on the IR & sign a speedy free agent? Why not utilize Tyrelle Pryor’s speed? Once defenses realized that virtually every Raiders running play was sent up the middle the Raiders rushing attack became a shadow of it’s former self.

So rather than listening to me complain about the state of the Raiders I’ll let you hear it straight from the Hue’s mouth.

How do you feel coach?
“To say I’m pissed off is an understatement. Obviously, we got beat here at home, and it didn’t’ look like a football team that was hungry enough to go win the AFC West title.”

Did you think you had your team ready to play?
“I thought this team was ready to take the next step. We didn’t get it done. It’s my responsibility, and so I understand that, and I’m pissed, to say the least.”

Who specifically are you mad at?
“I’m pissed at my team. At some point in time, as a group of men, you go in the game, and you can say whatever you want about coaches, you win the game. Here’s your time. Here’s your time to make plays. We didn’t get ‘em stopped. And we didn’t make enough plays. So, yeah, I’m pissed at the team. I’m also, like I tell them, I’ll always put it on me, but I am pissed at my team. Because when you have those kinds of opportunities, you’ve got to do it, and we didn’t do it.”

At this point of the post-game press conference Hue starting getting specific.
“I’m not making no more excuses for nobody. I’ve taken this thing on all year and, look, bottom line is, we don’t tackle very well in the secondary, we don’t make the plays that you have to make in the secondary to be very successful. We’re not where we need to be yet. It’s my job, and I’m going to get it fixed.”

When asked about the future status of Raiders defensive coordinator Chuck Bresnahan Jackson said he would not answer those questions at this time. He did say that the Raiders defense needed to play better as a unit, more cohesive, and that some players need an “attitude adjustment” .

We learned from Jon Gruden that the best way to do this is to start cutting guys. TV commentator Rich Gannon mentioned this as well, “It’s the only way to really get their attention”.

If you read between the lines of his comments it’s clear that Jackson has some philosophical differences with Bresnahan, which doesn’t bode well for Bresnahan’s long term future in Oakland.
“Chuck knows how I feel. I’m disappointed over there. I have been. It’s not like we haven’t had conversations. Chuck knows what I feel, and it’s not good enough. When you play defense in the NFL, man, you got to hunt. You can’t give up 28, 29 points and expect to win. You’re not going to do that. I’ve challenged our guys, I’ve challenged everybody and, obviously, we’re not responding to it. We got to get better.”

Then came an interesting comment that you know never would have been said if Al Davis was still alive.
“I’m going take a stronger hand in this whole team, this whole organization. There ain’t no way that I’m going to feel like I feel today a year from now, I promise you that. There’s no question. Defensively, offensively and special teams. I aint feeling like this no more. This is a joke. To have a chance at home to beat a football team that is reeling after being beaten by Detroit, is one of your rivals, and come in and beat us like that … yeah, I’m going to take a hand in everything that goes on here.”

I admire your sentiment coach, but that’s why you pay assistant coaches. This leads me to my final point.

Yesterday during the TV telecast former Raiders QB Rich Gannon made reference to an interesting comment made by current QB Carson Palmer. Gannon was paraphrasing Palmer and said that “Coach Jackson was so busy during the week that we haven’t been able to spend enough one on one time together in meetings.” Then Gannon added, “Maybe this is why the Raiders have to waste so many timeouts on offense”.

If this is the case, then the last thing Hue Jackson needs to do is to take on the added responsibility of the defense. Instead fire Bresnahan & get a respected defensive coordinator that shares your philosophy. It’s called delegating.

Perhaps later I will asses Hue Jackson in more depth, but I will say that I’m confident in his ability to lead the Raiders. It was interesting to hear coach speak so candidly, it’s just unfortunate it took such a devastating loss to get him to do so. We must remember this is his first year as the head coach of a football team at any level. He will make mistakes, learn from them, get better, and hopefully so too will the Raiders.

1 Comment »

  1. THEY CAN ONLY GET BETTER RIGHT?

    Comment by uncle buck — January 2, 2012 @ 3:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

