"Holy Toledo!"

July 10, 2013

Vintage Racing Videos on DVD! NHRA, Nascar, Indy 500

Filed under: Boat Drags, Drag Boat Racing, NHRA, Vintage Sports Video — Bill @ 9:51 am

Are you ready to go “old school” racing?
Check out my newly updated Vintage Racing Video Collection on DVD!
Click Here to see it!

From the day I brought home my first vcr I began recording sports. What began as simply a way to watch a race that was on TV while I wasn’t home, has mushroomed into this great hobby. I’ve never counted how many races I have on dvd, but I would guess the number exceeds 1000.

The highlights of my collection include some of the rarest & most significant moments in drag racing history. Races dating back to the 1950’s & 60’s all the way to last weekend’s race. In addition to all the races I also have many of the great specials documenting the careers of “Big Daddy” Don Garlits, Shirley Muldowney, & Don “The Snake” Prudhomme. Remember shows like Decade Of Thrills, Fabulous Floppers, or And They Walked Away? I have them.

My racing interests are not confined to just the quarter mile, my collection has a respectable representation of other type of motorsports. Many of us recall the days when we watched the Indianapolis 500, which was broadcast on a taped delayed basis several hours after the race was completed. To see the Daytona 500 we had to tune into Wide World Of Sports, where the race was shown in segments in between other events like gymnastics or figure skating. Hard to believe it, but that’s the way it was done back then.

The Nascar races I have primarily consist of the Dayton 500, however I do have some other races that were significant in the career of Dale Earnhardt.

My Indy 500 collection is respectable, including many of those tape delayed broadcasts. I would like to fill in some of the missing races, so if you have any let’s trade.

Having grown up on the shores of many boat drag races I would be remiss if I didn’t mention those men on the liquid quarter mile. Unfortunately not many drag boat races were televised, but I have managed to locate some interesting races that date back to the 1980’s. Now if you really want “Ole School” I have some very rare footage dating back to the late 1960’s & early ‘70’s. This amazing video was edited from our own home movies that were filmed on the old Super 8 movie camera. It includes races from Oakland & Perris, CA. and has footage of the legendary Dwight Bale. Great stuff!

In an effort to make my lists easier to navigate, I have reorganized my list. Sometimes, depending on your browser or it’s settings, it may not look as “spiffy” as it does on my original Word document. I can & will gladly send you this original document via email if you request it.

Enjoy the list, and remember…
“Happiness is a Low E.T.”

Click Here to see the list

Link:
https://billkuhn.wordpress.com/my-vintage-racing-video-collection/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

